Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

When the curtain opens, women in brightly patterned dresses, accessorised with fans and jewellery, step into the deep red lounge bar. Because of their high-heeled shoes and false lashes, their Adam’s apples and broad shoulders – stereotypically masculine body features – are only noticeable on second glance. Men enjoyed appearing at Eldorado, a Berlin nightclub, in makeup with extravagantly styled short hair. 

The three figures in the watercolour "Eldorado" embody an enticing interplay between the fetishisation of women’s clothing and the professional art of female impersonation (better known nowadays as drag). The relationship between drag and transvestism – in other words, between transformation and fetish – plays a significant role in gay entertainment to this day. Although the term 'transvestite' historically included transgender individuals, today it implies taking pleasure in wearing clothing associated with the other gender. “Drag Queens” usually view their appearances as a performative and provocative art practice. Both aspects came together in the cross-dressing of the 1920s and early 1930s.

As Berlin grew into a metropolis, the city became a magnet for many people who wished to escape the social pressures of the countryside. Despite the criminalisation of male homosexuality, these gay, lesbian and transgender people formed a multifaceted subculture with an unmistakable impact on the city’s public life. People compelled to lead double existences found longed-for safe spaces for 'sexual development' in the city’s nightlife. The two Eldorado dance clubs, touted as 'transvestite bars', were smashing successes from the start. Touring purportedly 'gay establishments' soon became a fashionable pastime. Art by queer performers increasingly turned into evening entertainment for a heterosexual audience. Curt Moreck praised the establishment in his 1930 "Guide to 'Depraved' Berlin" and points out: “The scenery [...] leaves one wondering: is it a man, a woman?” Berlin’s queer culture was framed as disreputable, but certainly interesting, and thus became a fascinating subject – even for heterosexual artists.

Otto Dix’s (1891–1969) interest in portraying the wildness of the urban jungle struck a rich vein in the voyeurism of Eldorado’s heterosexual audience. His chosen medium of watercolours was ideal for rapidly recording his impressions of the colourful bar.

 

Guest Author:
Mark Kuhrke
Art historian and student assistant at the Institute of Art and Image History of the Humboldt University of Berlin. Part-time work as a Drag Queen performance artist with own band
Pronoun: he/him (Mark), she/her (in Drag)

Further works from the project

Rolf von Bergmann

Untitled (Self-Portrait with Salomé), 1977

 

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

 

Rainer Fetting

Self as Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

 

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

 

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Parade of the Zeros), 1933–1935

 

Hannah Höch

Til Brugman´s Portrait , 1927

 

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

 

Herbert Tobias

Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1952

 

Klaus Vogelgesang

Hairy Underarm, 1971

 

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

 

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .

OK

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Wenn sich der Vorhang zur Seite schiebt, treten Damen in buntgemusterten Kleidern, mit Fächer und Schmuck ausgestattet, herein ins tiefe Rot des Barsalons. Dank Absatzschuhen und falschen Wimpern werden Adamsapfel und breites Kreuz, jene stereotypisch-männlichen Körpermerkmale, erst auf den zweiten Blick erkennbar. Im Berliner Nachtlokal Eldorado erschienen Männer gern geschminkt und mit auffrisiertem Herrenschnitt. 

Die drei Figuren im Aquarell „Eldorado“ begegnen sich in einem reizvollen Spiel von Fetischisierung des Tragens von Damenkleidung und der professionellen Kunst der Damenimitation (auch Travestie, zeitgenössisch Drag genannt). Die Wechselwirkung von Travestie und Transvestismus, d. h. von Verwandlung und Fetisch, bildet bis heute einen entscheidenden Aspekt der schwulen Unterhaltungskultur. Während der historische Begriff ‚Transvestit‘ noch Transgeschlechtlichkeit mitbezeichnete, impliziert er heute einen Lustgewinn am Tragen gegengeschlechtlicher Kleidung. ‚Drag-Queens‘ verstehen ihr Auftreten zumeist als performative und provokante Kunstpraxis. Beide Aspekte vereinen sich im Crossdressing der 1920er und frühen 1930er Jahre.

Als Berlin zur Metropole avancierte, wurde die Stadt zwischen Exzess und Exitus zum Fluchtpunkt all jener, die den sozialen Zwängen der Provinz entkommen wollten: Trotz Kriminalisierung von männlicher Homosexualität formten jene schwulen, lesbischen und transgeschlechtlichen Menschen eine facettenreiche Subkultur mit einem unverkennbaren Einfluss auf das öffentliche Leben der Stadt. Wer ein Doppelleben führen musste, fand im Nachtleben die gesuchten Freiräume zur ‚sexuellen Entfaltung‘. Die zwei als ‚Transvestitenbars‘ deklarierten Tanzlokale Eldorado waren seit ihrer Eröffnung höchst erfolgreich: Schnell wurde es Mode, mal einen Bummel durch vermeintlich ‚schwule Lokale‘ zu machen. Die Kunst queerer Performer*innen wurde zunehmend Abendunterhaltung eines heterosexuellen Publikums. Curt Moreck lobte das Lokal in seinem 1930 erschienenen „Führer durch das 'lasterhafte' Berlin“ und hebt hervor: „Die Kulisse [...] läßt noch Zweifel: ob Mann, ob Frau?". Die queere Kultur Berlins wurde als etwas Anrüchiges, aber durchaus Interessantes inszeniert und so nunmehr zu einem faszinierenden Thema ‒ auch für heterosexuelle Künstler*innen.

Otto Dix‘ (1891–1969) Interesse, den animalischen Charakter des Großstadtdschungels abzubilden, fand im Voyeurismus des heterosexuellen Publikums im Eldorado eine ergiebige Quelle. Dabei eignete sich die verwendete Aquarelltechnik ideal für das rasche Festhalten der bunten Bar-Eindrücke.

 

Gastautor*in:
Mark Kuhrke
Kunsthistoriker und studentischer Mitarbeiter am Institut für Kunst- und Bildgeschichte der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Nebenberuflich tätig als Drag-Queen-Performance-Künslter*in mit eigener Band
Pronomen: er/ihm (Mark), sie/ihr (in Drag)

Weitere Werke aus dem Projekt

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933–1935

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

OK