Gertrude Sandmann

Group IX, 1922

This 1922 study by Gertrude Sandmann (1893–1981) depicts two nude women with their backs turned to us, their faces out of view. Seated closely side by side, their heads angled towards one another, they appear deep in conversation. With a few spare lines, Sandmann encapsulates the intimate atmosphere between the two women. The artist uses the medium of drawing – well-suited for capturing fleeting, momentary impressions – to portray the encounter’s intimacy.

The identities of the models for Sandmann’s drawing are unknown. The rear view preserves the two women’s anonymity while faithfully recording the shapes of their bodies. Drawings were Gertrude Sandmann’s primary medium for expressing the seen and the unseen, visual thinking and perception, within an image. Until late in her life, the artist produced a great many drawings, including nudes and portraits of women of all ages. Numerous depictions by her of nameless female couples date back to the 1920s. At the time, there were discussions about criminalising lesbian women, who, unlike gay men, were not at risk of persecution under Paragraph 175 of the German Criminal Code, but were nevertheless subject to discrimination in a heteronormative society. At the same time, Germany was home to a diverse and vibrant homosexual subculture that included social clubs and associations as well as queer venues such as pubs, bars and cabarets.

Despite living in a heteronormative society, the Jewish artist considered herself fortunate to be what she called a “lesbarian.” Under the Nazi regime, when repressive treatment of Jewish people was growing increasingly unbearable, her life partner of many years, Hedwig “Jonny” Koslowski, became her primary caregiver. In 1974, with the rise of the queer liberation movement in West Germany, Sandmann joined L74 (Lesbos 1974), one of the first postwar organisations for older lesbians.

 

Author:
Anna-Maria Nitschke
Trainee
Pronoun: she/her

Further works from the project

Rolf von Bergmann

Untitled (Self-Portrait with Salomé), 1977

 

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

 

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

 

Rainer Fetting

Self as Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

 

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

 

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Parade of the Zeros), 1933–1935

 

Hannah Höch

Til Brugman´s Portrait , 1927

 

Herbert Tobias

Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1952

 

Klaus Vogelgesang

Hairy Underarm, 1971

 

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

 

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .

OK

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Gertrude Sandmanns (1893–1981) Aktstudie von 1922 zeigt zwei Frauen, die uns als Betrachter*innen den Rücken kehren und deren Gesichter uns verschlossen bleiben. Nah beieinandersitzend, die Köpfe einander zugeneigt, scheinen sie in ein Gespräch vertieft zu sein. Mit wenigen Strichen fängt Sandmann die intime Atmosphäre zwischen den beiden Frauen ein. Das Medium der Zeichnung – geeignet um flüchtige, momenthafte Eindrücke spontan einzufangen – nutzt die Künstlerin, um das Private der Begegnung festzuhalten.

Wer Sandmann hier Modell gesessen hat, ist nicht bekannt. Die Anonymität der beiden Frauen bleibt in der Rückenansicht gewahrt, doch werden die individuellen Formen der Körper aufgenommen. Die Zeichnung war für Gertrude Sandmann das wichtigste Medium, um Gesehenes und nicht Gesehenes, visuelles Denken und Fühlen in einem Bild auszudrücken. Bis ins hohe Alter schuf die Künstlerin ein großes Konvolut an Zeichnungen, die Akte und Porträts von Frauen jeden Alters zeigen. Zahlreiche Bilder von anonymen Frauenpaaren entstanden schon in den 1920er Jahren. Zu der Zeit gab es zum einen Debatten über eine mögliche Kriminalisierung lesbischer Frauen, die im Gegensatz zu homosexuellen Männern keine Strafe durch den Paragrafen §175 zu befürchten hatten, aber in einer heteronormativen Gesellschaftsstruktur diskriminiert wurden. Zum anderen existierte eine vielfältige homosexuelle Subkultur mit Vereinen sowie queeren Orten wie Lokalen, Bars und Varietés.

Die jüdische Künstlerin selbst sah es trotz der heteronormativen Gesellschaft, in der sie lebte, als Glück an, eine „Lesbierin“ zu sein. Vor allem als während der NS-Zeit die Repressionen gegen jüdische Personen immer unerträglicher wurden, war ihre langjährige Lebenspartnerin Hedwig „Jonny“ Koslowski ihre wichtigste Bezugsperson. 1974 mit der aufkommenden queeren Emanzipationsbewegung in der BRD schloss sich Sandmann der Gruppe „L74“ (Lesbos 1974) an, einer der ersten Nachkriegsorganisationen für ältere, lesbische Frauen.

 

Autor*in:
Anna-Maria Nitschke
Wissenschaftliche Volontärin
Pronomen: sie/ihr

Weitere Werke aus dem Projekt

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933–1935

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

OK