Herbert Tobias

Untitled (Self-portrait), 1952

Two men in Paris’s Jardin du Luxembourg, 1952. One of them is the photographer, Herbert Tobias (1924–1982). He is sitting casually in his chair, his arms dangling, his head leaning back. The other man keeps his identity to himself. Hidden behind a column, the stranger puts his hand on the thigh of Tobias, who cherishes the touch with eyes closed. The camera, at knee height in the shade of the column, is an unseen observer in this configuration. Tobias has carefully staged the scene, however. His use of a cable release to activate the shutter gives the composition its intimacy. Thus, the photographer casts the viewers as seemingly furtive witnesses to a covert dalliance.

In the 1950s, such encounters were criminalised in many places. In Germany, Herbert Tobias and his American partner Richard (known as Dick) were prosecuted under Paragraph 175 of the Criminal Code, resulting in Dick’s deportation and the couple’s emigration to Paris. Laws in France were more liberal. Although, in the repressive mid-century climate, gay socializing had mostly been driven underground there as well, gay life was not confined to private spaces. The Jardin du Luxembourg, which remains a Parisian cruising spot to this day, was already a popular meeting place for gay men, including those seeking sex. The image speaks to the tension between secrecy and the public sphere that characterised such encounters.

Today, Tobias’s photograph can be read as documentation of an alternative, gay public sphere. In numerous photographic portraits, we not only come across the photographer’s friends, partners and lovers – recurring characters such as Claude or Dick – but also see passing acquaintances from the street. Titles such as "The Boy at 'Hotel Metro'" (1954) and "The Boy from East Berlin" (1957) suggest the fleetingness of these encounters, while the nudity of the bodies these photographs depict implies the episodes’ intimacy.

 

Author:
Antonia Wolff
Trainee
Pronoun: she/her

Further works from the project

Rolf von Bergmann

Untitled (Self-Portrait with Salomé), 1977

 

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

 

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

 

Rainer Fetting

Self as Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

 

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

 

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Parade of the Zeros), 1933–1935

 

Hannah Höch

Til Brugman´s Portrait , 1927

 

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

 

Klaus Vogelgesang

Hairy Underarm, 1971

 

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

 

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .

OK

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

1952, zwei Männer im Pariser Jardin du Luxembourg. Der Eine ist der Fotograf Herbert Tobias (1924–1982). Lässig sitzt er in seinem Stuhl, die Arme baumelnd, den Kopf in den Nacken gelegt. Der Andere gibt seine Identität nicht preis. Hinter einer Säule versteckt schiebt der Fremde seine Hand über Tobias Bein, der sich mit geschlossenen Augen der Berührung hingibt. Die Kamera, auf Kniehöhe und im Schatten der Säule, ist in dieser Konstellation eine ungesehene Beobachterin. Dabei hat Tobias die Szene sorgfältig inszeniert. Indem er mit Fernauslöser arbeitet, erreicht die Komposition ihre Intimität. So macht der Fotograf die Betrachter*innen zu scheinbar heimlichen Zeug*innen eines versteckten Liebesspiels.

Es ist eine Begegnung, wie sie in den 1950er Jahren vielerorts unter Strafe stand. In Deutschland waren Herbert Tobias und sein Partner Richard (Dick) 1951 wegen Verstoßes gegen § 175 angeklagt worden, was für den Amerikaner Dick die Ausweisung und für das Paar die Emigration nach Paris zur Folge hatte. In Frankreich war die Gesetzgebung liberaler. Wenngleich auch hier im repressiven Klima der Jahrhundertmitte schwule Geselligkeit weitgehend in den Untergrund verbannt war, fand homosexuelles Leben nicht nur in Privaträumen statt. Der Jardin du Luxembourg, noch heute ein Cruising Hotspot in Paris, war schon in den 1950er Jahren ein beliebter Treffpunkt für schwule Männer, auch um sexuelle Bekanntschaften zu machen. Von dem Spannungsverhältnis zwischen Öffentlichkeit und Geheimhaltung, das solche Begegnungen prägte, kann das Bild erzählen.

Tobias fotografisches Werk kann heute als Dokument einer schwulen Gegenöffentlichkeit gelesen werden. In zahlreichen Porträtfotografien begegnen uns nicht nur Freunde, Partner und Liebhaber des Fotografen – Menschen wie Claude oder Dick, die immer wieder vorkommen –, sondern auch Bekanntschaften von der Straße. Bildtitel wie „Der Junge im ‚Hotel Metro‘“ (1954) oder „Der Junge aus Ost-Berlin“ (1957) deuten die Flüchtigkeit dieser Begegnungen an, während die Nacktheit der abgebildeten Körper von intimen Verhältnissen erzählt.

 

Autor*in:
Antonia Wolff
Wissenschaftliche Volontärin
Pronomen: sie/ihr

Weitere Werke aus dem Projekt

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933–1935

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

OK