Werner Heldt

Meeting (Parade of the Zeros), 1933–1935

The crude crowds are deafening despite their silence: they are silent as charcoal pencil. This is not the Love Parade or some Fridays for Future demonstration. And nevertheless, or perhaps all the more, I am screamed at by whiteness, normativity. It is overpowering, it holds privilege – even the outcry and the condemnation directed at the crowd in this work of art. Even the body drawing these lines has permission to simply observe. Is that easy? Probably not. Is it intentional? I cannot say.

I move along the margins of the image. The façades of buildings, an enormous city square and throngs of people who, as they paper the walls of my perceptions, only do so less abstractly upon a closer look. The zeros emerge. I see black flags weaving like shark fins through the sea of human beings. I see banners that require no inscriptions because the message is plain. But what is Werner Heldt saying?

Zeros upon zeros – anything else ought not to exist in that era, or is unwanted. The binarity and banality just will not stop. Have they resumed? If I were there back then, I could not have scraped by as an invisible zero, would never have become one, and the same holds true today. Which of these zeros describes Heldt’s own privilege to be permitted or compelled to observe the viciousness? From which vantage point is the artist gazing upon this destructive scenario?

And so many, so many questions: Where would I be in this artwork? I go looking for my people. I search the image for non-normativity or for intersectional sociopolitical elements. Where are the multilayered ones, the resistant ones? Is it enough just to render the shock, the disgust, palpable in art? What comes next? What is hidden, transformatively, underneath? Where are Heldt’s deep sense of weight and his fear that his own position will be exposed, a state of mind that accompanied Heldt nearly his entire life? They are nowhere to be found. And nevertheless, I search for them with the greatest of longing.

One last glance at the procession. I am still searching for myself, startling myself continually, as I consider the perspective from which Werner Heldt is drawing. Is he on a roof, on a stage, in some hiding spot? Would that be my place too?

 

Guest Author:
Stefanie-Lahya Aukongo
Artist and poet
Pronoun: none, she/her

Further works from the project

Rolf von Bergmann

Untitled (Self-Portrait with Salomé), 1977

 

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

 

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

 

Rainer Fetting

Self as Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

 

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

 

Hannah Höch

Til Brugman´s Portrait , 1927

 

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

 

Herbert Tobias

Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1952

 

Klaus Vogelgesang

Hairy Underarm, 1971

 

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

 

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .

OK

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933–1935

Brachiale Menschenmengen, laut, obwohl es still ist, kohlstiftstill. Es ist nicht die Love-Parade oder eine beliebige Fridays-for-Future-Demo. Und trotzdem, vielleicht auch gerade deshalb, schreit mich ein Weiß, eine Norm an. Es ist erdrückend, es ist privilegiert, selbst der Aufschrei und die Kritik an dieser Ansammlung auf dem Kunstwerk sind es. Selbst der Körper, der diese Linien zieht, darf einfach beobachten. Ist das leicht? Wahrscheinlich nicht. Ist das gewollt? Ich weiß es nicht.

Ich bewege mich am Bildrand entlang. Häuserwände, ein riesiger Platz und Menschenmassen, die erst bei genauerer Betrachtung meine Erkenntniswände weniger abstrakt tapezieren. Die Nullen fallen auf. Ich sehe schwarze Fahnen, die wie Haifischflossen durchs Menschenmeer navigieren. Ich sehe Transparente, die keine Aufschriften brauchen, weil die Nachricht klar ist. Doch was hat Werner Heldt zu sagen?

Nullen und Nullen, was anderes darf in jener Zeit nicht existieren, ist nicht gewollt. Die Binarität, Banalität hört einfach nicht auf. Fortgeführt? Ich hätte es mir damals nicht leisten können, eine unsichtbare Null zu sein, wäre nie eine geworden, und heute ist das ebenso. Welche der Nullen beschreibt Heldts eigenen, privilegierten Anteil, das Grausame beobachten zu dürfen, zu müssen? Von wo aus blickt die zeichnende Person auf das zerstörerische Szenario?

Und immer, immer wieder Fragen: Wo wäre ich in diesem Werk? Ich suche meine Leute. Ich suche die Nicht-Norm und die verwobenen gesellschaftspolitischen Anteile im Bild. Wo sind die Mehrschichtigen, die Widerständigen? Reicht es schon aus, den Schock, das Angewidertsein künstlerisch fühlbar zu machen? Was kommt danach, was verbirgt sich transformativ dahinter? Wo ist Heldts tiefe Schwere und die Angst davor, dass die eigene Positionierung entlarvt wird, ein Seelenzustand, der Heldt fast das ganze Leben begleitete? Sie sind nicht zu finden. Und trotzdem suche ich sie sehnlichst.

Einen letzten Blick auf den Aufmarsch, ich suche mich noch immer und erschrecke mich noch immer, wenn ich die Perspektive betrachte, von der Werner Heldt zeichnet. Ist das ein Dach, eine Bühne, ist das ein Versteck? Wäre das auch mein Ort?

 

Gastautor*in:
Stefanie-Lahya Aukongo
Künstlerin und Poetin
Pronomen: keine, sie/ihr

Weitere Werke aus dem Projekt

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

OK