Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

The photograph depicts Siobhan Lidell (* 1965), with whom Nan Goldin (* 1953) was in a romantic relationship for several years. With the title “Siobhan in my mirror”, the artist reveals something of herself: the image gives us a glimpse into her bedroom, a deeply private space. In the mirror, we see an image of a feminine-presenting nude body: a clue as to the artist’s sexual desires? Is Goldin ironically reclaiming the male sexualised gaze at female-presenting bodies?  We also see a bed in the background, various make-up products in the foreground – and Siobhan in the middle. Thus, the photograph also speaks to the intimate relationship between the two women.

Siobhan appears twice in the image: On the left, she evades Goldin’s camera as a blurry background figure. The photographer has focused her lens on the mirror image, in which Siobhan is scrutinising herself with intense concentration. The photographic subject is simultaneously observer and observed. With this, Goldin subverts conventional hierarchies of gaze. In the mirror, we see Siobhan as she sees herself. Her short dark hair and her classic men’s suit – markers of stereotypical masculinity – stand in sharp contrast to the feminine-presenting torso taped to the mirror: a naked body at the mercy of the viewer’s gaze.

Nan Goldin spent four years living in Berlin, where she became part of the lively queer subcultural scene of drag artists, trans people, gay men and lesbians. She lived with the protagonists of her photos and took their portraits from non-voyeuristic vantage points, often in the aesthetics of a snapshot. In the process, she frequently interrogated notions of binary genders and fixed sexual identities. In 2001, she told an interviewer: “At a party last night, when someone asked me if I was a lesbian, I answered that I’m always a real lesbian when I’m sleeping with women, and bisexual when I’m also with men.

 

Author:
Luise Wengerowski
Trainee
Pronoun: she/her

Further works from the project

Rolf von Bergmann

Untitled (Self-Portrait with Salomé), 1977

 

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

 

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

 

Rainer Fetting

Self as Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

 

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Parade of the Zeros), 1933–1935

 

Hannah Höch

Til Brugman´s Portrait , 1927

 

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

 

Herbert Tobias

Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1952

 

Klaus Vogelgesang

Hairy Underarm, 1971

 

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

 

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .

OK

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Das Foto zeigt Siobhan Lidell (* 1965), mit der Nan Goldin (* 1953) eine mehrjährige Liebesbeziehung hatte. Mit dem Bildtitel „Siobhan in my mirror“ gibt die Künstlerin etwas von sich preis: denn es ist ihr Schlafzimmer, ein höchst privater Raum, in den wir blicken. Am Spiegel das Bild eines nackten, weiblich konnotierten Körpers: ein Hinweis auf das sexuelle Begehren der Künstlerin? Eine ironische Aneignung des männlich sexualisierten Blicks auf weiblich konnotierte Körper? Zudem ein Bett im Hintergrund, diverse Make-up-Produkte im Vordergrund – und mittendrin Siobhan. Damit erzählt das Bild auch von dem intimen Verhältnis der beiden Frauen.

Siobhan erscheint doppelt im Bild: Links entzieht sie sich Goldins Kamera als verschwommene Rückenfigur. Erst auf das Spiegelbild, in dem sie sich eindringlich und konzentriert ansieht, hat die Fotografin den Bildausschnitt scharf gestellt. Die Fotografierte ist zugleich Betrachtende und Betrachtete. So unterläuft Goldin gängige Blickhierarchien. Wir sehen Siobhan im Spiegel so, wie sie sich selbst sieht: Ihr kurzes, dunkles Haar, der klassische Herrenanzug – Merkmale stereotyper Männlichkeit – stehen in scharfem Kontrast zu dem weiblich konnotierten Torso, der am Spiegel klemmt: Hier ist der nackte Körper den Blicken ausgeliefert.

Nan Goldin lebte vier Jahre in Berlin, wo sie Teil der lebendigen queeren Subkulturszene von Drags, Trans* Personen und homosexuellen Menschen war. Mit den Protagonist*innen ihrer Bilder lebte sie zusammen und porträtierte sie aus einer nicht-voyeuristischen Haltung heraus, oft in einer Schnappschuss-Ästhetik. Dabei stellt sie Vorstellungen von binären geschlechtlichen und festen sexuellen Identitäten immer wieder in Frage. 2001 sagte sie in einem Interview: „Gestern Nacht, als mich jemand auf einer Party fragte, ob ich eine Lesbe sei, antwortete ich, ich sei immer eine echte Lesbe, wenn ich mit Frauen schliefe, und bisexuell, wenn ich auch mit Männern zusammen bin.“

 

Autor*in:
Luise Wengerowski
Wissenschaftliche Volontärin
Pronomen: sie/ihr

Weitere Werke aus dem Projekt

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933–1935

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

OK