Hannah Höch

Til Brugman´s Portrait, 1927

Lost in a daydream, the portrait of writer Til Brugman (1888–1958) gazes past us. Humorous or even satirical references from the time, which are otherwise commonplace in the work of Hannah Höch (1889–1978), are absent here. Instead, the artist has torn up coloured paper and rearranged it into a picturesque collage in which the individual scraps, configured into a sculptural and mosaic-like whole, resemble thick brush-strokes on paper.

Over the course of her career, Höch, a Dadaist, used collage to critically portray and deconstruct perceived societal ills, including the institution of marriage. Using her tool – a pair of scissors – she cut up images or texts from contemporary media and assembled the pieces into new, seemingly deformed portraits. The figures’ identities are often unknowable: Whom or what are we looking at here? These portrayals resist the viewers’ desire to classify what they see into stereotypical categories.

The portrait of Brugman functions differently. Instead of destruction, Höch opts for assembly as a form of expression. Her tools are her hands. Composed using soft colours, the image demands a vivid and sensitive exploration of what it portrays: we attempt to grasp this and piece it together from its individual fragments. Out of many small pieces, Höch constructs the whole that Brugman embodies for her.

Höch created this portrait of her partner in 1927. At the time, the couple was based in The Hague, where, from 1926 to 1929, they resided with Höch’s cat "Ninn". Höch had previously grappled with female stereotypes, but her relationship with Brugman now led her to deeper examination of heteronormative gender roles. Höch’s collages are diverse, for they disrupt gender classifications.

 

Author:
Denise Handte
Trainee
Pronoun: she/her

Further works from the project

Rolf von Bergmann

Untitled (Self-Portrait with Salomé), 1977

 

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

 

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

 

Rainer Fetting

Self as Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

 

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

 

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Parade of the Zeros), 1933–1935

 

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

 

Herbert Tobias

Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1952

 

Klaus Vogelgesang

Hairy Underarm, 1971

 

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

 

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .

OK

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Verträumt blickt die porträtierte Schriftstellerin Til Brugman (1888–1958) an uns vorbei. Humorvolle oder gar satirische Zeitbezüge, die Hannah Höchs (1889–1978) Werke sonst auszeichnen, fehlen hier. Stattdessen reißt die Künstlerin Buntpapier zu Fetzen auseinander und baut aus ihnen eine malerische Collage, in der einzelne Papierschnipsel in einer modellierten und mosaikartigen Form wie dicke Malstriche auf Papier wirken.

Im Laufe ihrer Karriere nutzt die Dadaistin Höch die Collage, um empfundene gesellschaftliche Missstände, beispielsweise die Institution Ehe, kritisch darzustellen und zu sezieren. Mit ihrem Werkzeug (der Schere) zerschneidet sie Bilder oder Texte aus zeitgenössischen Medien und baut sie zu neuen, deformiert anmutenden Porträts zusammen. Die Identitäten der Figuren sind oft nicht zu fassen: Wen oder was sehen wir hier eigentlich? Sie entziehen sich dem Bedürfnis der Betrachter*innen, Gesehenes in stereotype Kategorien einzuordnen.

Anders verhält es sich mit dem Porträt von Brugman. Statt destruktiv zu arbeiten, wählt Höch die Ausdrucksform des Zusammensetzens. Ihr Werkzeug sind ihre Hände. In zarten Farben gehalten, fordert das Bild eine eindringliche und sensible Auseinandersetzung mit der Dargestellten ein, indem wir versuchen, sie zu greifen und aus einzelnen Fragmenten wieder zusammenzusetzen. Aus vielen kleinen Teilen baut Höch jene Gesamtheit, die Brugman für sie verkörpert.

Höchs Porträt ihrer Lebensgefährtin entsteht 1927. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt wohnt das Paar in Den Haag, wo es sich mit Höchs Katze „Ninn“ von 1926 bis 1929 niederlässt. Hatte Höch sich zuvor schon mit stereotypen Frauenbildern auseinandergesetzt, führt ihre Beziehung mit Brugman zu einer intensiveren Beschäftigung mit heteronormativen Geschlechterrollen. Höchs Collagen sind divers, denn sie lösen Geschlechtszugehörigkeiten auf.

 

Autor*in
Denise Handte
Wissenschaftliche Volontärin
Pronomen: sie/ihr

Weitere Werke aus dem Projekt

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933–1935

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

OK