Rolf von Bergmann

Untitled (Self-portrait with Salomé), 1977

Rolf von Bergmann (1953–1988) and Salomé (* 1954) style themselves in salacious poses: Salomé in a blond wig and long fake eyelashes, von Bergmann with expressive makeup and a feather boa. Standing on a pile of fur coats in glittering heels, they hold court like statues atop marble pedestals. The camera position chosen by the photographer, Rolf von Bergmann, forces the viewers to look upward at the two subjects. This extravagant duo of artists looks boldly and coquettishly into the lens. What resembles a snapshot at first glance has in fact been deliberately staged.

Von Bergmann uses photography to fortify his own queer identity. Portrayals of himself in drag are a running theme across his early photographs. His self-portraits attest to a queer self-confidence that was far more unusual at the time and required a difficult struggle to achieve. With the lesbian and gay liberation movement, associations such as Homosexual Action of West Berlin (HAW) and the first Berlin Pride March in 1979, West Berlin too showed signs of a queer emancipation that was starting to assert itself in the 1970s.

Rolf von Bergmann’s "Self-Portrait with Salomé" was taken in 1977 at the Galerie am Moritzplatz. This “self-help gallery”, co-founded by Salomé, Rainer Fetting (* 1949), Rolf von Bergmann, Helmut Middendorf (* 1953) and Bernd Zimmer (* 1948), not only hosted the beginnings of German neo-expressionist painting (also known in German as "heftige Malerei"). Artists working in the factory turned studio space also explicitly addressed themes of homosexuality in their work. More than anyone, Rolf von Bergmann and Salomé subverted prescribed gender constructs both through their visual art and through their performances as the drag duo Transformer Company.

 

Author:
Hanna Vogel
Trainee
Pronoun: none, she/her

Further works from the project

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

 

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

 

Rainer Fetting

Self as Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

 

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

 

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Parade of the Zeros), 1933–1935

 

Hannah Höch

Til Brugman´s Portrait , 1927

 

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

 

Herbert Tobias

Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1952

 

Klaus Vogelgesang

Hairy Underarm, 1971

 

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

 

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .

OK

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Rolf von Bergmann (1953–1988) und Salomé (* 1954) setzen sich in lasziver Haltung in Szene: Salomé mit blonder Perücke und langen falschen Wimpern, von Bergmann mit expressivem Make-up und Federboa. In glitzernden High Heels stehen sie auf einem Berg aus Pelzmänteln wie Statuen, die auf ihren Marmorsockeln thronen. Der Fotograf Rolf von Bergmann stellt seine Kamera so auf, dass die Betrachter*innen zu den beiden aufschauen müssen. Selbstbewusst und kokett blickt dieses extravagante Künstler-Duo in die Linse. Was zunächst wie ein Schnappschuss wirkt, ist bewusst inszeniert.

Von Bergmann nutzt die Fotografie, um sich in seiner eigenen queeren Identität zu bestärken. Das Sich-Darstellen als Drag Queen zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch sein frühes fotografisches Werk. Seine Selbstporträts zeugen von einem queeren Selbstverständnis, das zu dieser Zeit noch weniger selbstverständlich war als heute und hart erkämpft werden musste. Mit der Schwulen- und Lesbenbewegung, Vereinigungen wie der Homosexuellen Aktion West Berlin (HAW) und dem ersten Berliner Pride March 1979 zeigten sich auch in West-Berlin Impulse einer queeren Emanzipation, die sich in den 1970er Jahren durchzusetzen begannen.

Rolf von Bergmanns „Selbstporträt mit Salomé“ entstand 1977 in der Galerie am Moritzplatz. In dieser „Selbsthilfegalerie“, die von Salomé, Rainer Fetting (* 1949), Rolf von Bergmann, Helmut Middendorf (* 1953) und Bernd Zimmer (* 1948) gegründet worden war, fand nicht nur die sogenannte „heftige Malerei“ ihre Anfänge. Die Ateliers des alten Fabrikgebäudes waren auch ein Ort, an dem Künstler*innen sich in ihren Werken explizit mit homosexuellen Themen beschäftigten. Vor allem Rolf von Bergmann und Salomé brechen sowohl mit ihrer Kunst als auch mit ihren Auftritten als Drag-Performance Duo „Transformer Company“ festgeschriebene Geschlechterkonstruktionen auf.

 

Autor*in:
Hanna Vogel
Wissenschaftliche Volontär*in
Pronomen: keine, sie/ihr

Weitere Werke aus dem Projekt

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933–1935

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

OK