Out and About

Queer Visibilities in the Collection of the Berlinische Galerie

Nan Goldin, Siobhan in my mirror, Berlin, 1992
Nan Goldin, Siobhan in my mirror, Berlin, 1992
© Nan Goldin, Courtesy Marian Goodman Gallery

Many objects in the collection of the Berlinische Galerie have direct or indirect connections to queer subject matter: because the artists are or were members of the community, or because their art navigates issues of gender identity and sexual orientation. For example, works by Nan Goldin (* 1953), Hannah Höch (1889–1978) and Herbert Tobias (1924–1982) represent perspectives of the LGBTQI* (lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, queer and inter*) communities that are too often overlooked.

The online project "Out and About", initiated by trainees of the Berlinische Galerie, investigates the queer legibilities of photographs, paintings, works on paper and one piece of video art. Giving voice to a diversity of perspectives, outside authors were invited to respond to selected objects. Their contributions enrich and supplement the texts by the team of trainees, who are predominantly white and heterosexual. The project considers the artists’ relationships to their artworks as well as social and historical references to queer lived realities. The title "Out and About" is in part a literal invocation of the idiom – the act of openly inhabiting the public sphere – often after an extended period of being unable to do so. It also alludes to "coming out of the closet", a phrase many LGBTQI* individuals use for moments when they have claimed their queer identities both for themselves and in front of others.

In addition to presenting the works on the website and in the online collection, the Berlinische Galerie will be organising a varied programme of associated events, including a film screening curated in cooperation with the "XPOSED Queer Film Festival Berlin".

With "Out and About", the trainees hope to raise the visibility of alternative walks of life within heteronormative social structures – in the 1920s, the Nazi era, Germany’s postwar period and the present day. By doing so, they are advocating for greater queer visibilities within the collection of the Berlinische Galerie.

Rolf von Bergmann, Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Tabea Blumenschein, Dixie Marine, 1995

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Otto Dix, Eldorado, 1927

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Rainer Fetting, Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Nan Goldin, Siobhan in my mirror, Berlin, 1992

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Werner Heldt, Meeting (Parade of the Zeros), 1933-1935

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933-1935

Hannah Höch, Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Gertrude Sandmann, Gruppe IX, 1922

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Herbert Tobias, Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Klaus Vogelgesang, Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong, Kontakthope, 2010, Film still

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Discover the artworks in Collection Online!

To Collection Online
Abdullah Qureshi, Journey to CharBagh, 2019, video still, © Hadi Rehman

Short film programme

From 22 to 29 November 2020, you can watch a short film programme on our Website, which was developed in cooperation with the "XPOSED Queer Film Festival Berlin". Six works from past and future editions of the festival formally, geographically and thematically represent a broad spectrum.

Short Film Programme

The project "Out and About" was critically accompanied by the network "Museen Queeren Berlin" and was kindly supported by Schwules Museum. The Film screening is organised in cooperation with and kindly supported by "XPOSED Queer Film Festival Berlin".

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .

OK

Out and About

Queere Sichtbarkeiten in der Sammlung der Berlinischen Galerie

Nan Goldin, Siobhan in my mirror, Berlin, 1992
Nan Goldin, Siobhan in my mirror, Berlin, 1992
© Nan Goldin, Courtesy Marian Goodman Gallery

Eine Vielzahl von Objekten in der Sammlung der Berlinischen Galerie weisen direkte oder indirekte Verbindungen zu queeren Themen auf: sei es, weil die Künstler*innen Teil der Szene sind/waren oder in ihrer Kunst Geschlechtsidentitäten und sexuelle Orientierung verhandelt werden. Werke, unter anderem von Nan Goldin (* 1953), Hannah Höch (1889–1978) oder Herbert Tobias (1924–1982), zeigen beispielhaft Perspektiven der LSBTIQ* (Lesben-, Schwulen-, Bisexuellen-, Trans-, Inter* und queeren) Communities, die oftmals unbeachtet bleiben.

In dem Onlineprojekt „Out and About“ der Volontär*innen der Berlinischen Galerie werden Fotografien, Gemälde, Arbeiten auf Papier und Filme auf ihre queeren Lesbarkeiten untersucht. Um diverse Stimmen zu Wort kommen zu lassen, wurden externe Autor*innen dazu eingeladen, sich mit ausgewählten Objekten auseinanderzusetzen. Ihre Beiträge bereichern und ergänzen die Texte des überwiegend weißen, heterosexuellen Volontär*innen-Teams. Dabei spielen die Künstler*innen im Verhältnis zu ihrem Kunstwerk genauso eine Rolle wie die gesellschaftlichen und historischen Verweise auf queere Lebensrealitäten. Der Titel „Out and About“ bezieht sich einerseits auf „Being Out and About“: aktiv draußen unterwegs zu sein – oft, nachdem dies länger nicht möglich war. Andererseits ist es eine Anspielung auf die Redewendung „coming out of the closet“, die den Moment im Leben von vielen LSBTIQ* Menschen beschreibt, sich vor sich selbst und anderen zur eigenen queeren Identität zu bekennen.

Neben der Präsentation der Werke auf der Webseite und in der digitalen „Sammlung Online“ gibt es ein vielseitiges Rahmenprogramm. Dazu zählt auch ein Film Screening, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem „XPOSED Queer Film Festival Berlin“ kuratiert wurde.

Mit „Out and About“ möchten die Volontär*innen einen Beitrag dazu leisten, alternative Lebensweisen in heteronormativen Gesellschaftsstrukturen sichtbar zu machen: in den 1920er Jahren, während der NS-Zeit, im Nachkriegs-Deutschland und in unserer Gegenwart. Damit setzen sie sich für die Sensibilisierung für queere Sichtbarkeiten in der Sammlung der Berlinischen Galerie ein.

Rolf von Bergmann, Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Rolf von Bergmann

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt mit Salomé), 1977

Tabea Blumenschein, Dixie Marine, 1995

Tabea Blumenschein

Dixie Marine, 1995

Otto Dix, Eldorado, 1927

Otto Dix

Eldorado, 1927

Rainer Fetting, Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Rainer Fetting

Selbst als Gustaf Gründgens, 1974

Nan Goldin, Siobhan in my mirror, Berlin, 1992

Nan Goldin

Siobhan in my mirror, 1992

Werner Heldt, Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933-1935

Werner Heldt

Meeting (Aufmarsch der Nullen), 1933-1935

Hannah Höch, Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Hannah Höch

Porträt Til Brugman, 1927

Gertrude Sandmann, Gruppe IX, 1922

Gertrude Sandmann

Gruppe IX, 1922

Herbert Tobias, Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Herbert Tobias

Ohne Titel (Selbstporträt), 1952

Klaus Vogelgesang, Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Klaus Vogelgesang

Haare unterm Arm, 1971

Ming Wong, Kontakthope, 2010, Film still

Ming Wong

Kontakthope, 2010

Die Kunstwerke in Sammlung Online entdecken!

zu Sammlung Online
Abdullah Qureshi, Journey to CharBagh, 2019, video still, © Hadi Rehman

Queeres (Auf-)Begehren

Vom 22. bis 29. November 2020 können Sie in unserem auf unserer Website ein Kurzfilmprogramm ansehen, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem „XPOSED Queer Film Festival Berlin“ kuratiert wurde. Sechs Arbeiten aus früheren und künftigen Ausgaben des Festivals bilden formal, geografisch wie thematisch ein breites Spektrum ab.

Zum Kurzfilmprogramm

Das Projekt "Out and About" wurde kritisch begleitet durch das Netzwerk "Museen Queeren Berlin" und erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Schwulen Museums. Das Film-Screening wird in Zusammenarbeit mit und mit freundlicher Unterstützung von "XPOSED Queer Film Festival Berlin" realisiert.

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

OK