For lifetime achievement

Hannah Höch Prize

Hannah Höch belonged to Dada – amongst other things. Her versatile œuvre cannot be pigeonholed and she never wanted to be nailed down to a particular style. The most important award for fine artists that the State of Berlin has to offer is named after her.

Stefan Moses, Untitled (Hannah Höch in her house at Berlin-Heiligensee), 1975

The Hannah Höch Prize is endowed with 80,000 euros and was first granted in 1996. It honours unwavering quality in the lifetime achievement of an artist. Another criterion: Berlin must be the geographical focus of the laureate’s life and work.

The Hannah Höch Prize entitles the winner to an exhibition and catalogue, to be implemented by the Berlinische Galerie, the Stadtmuseum, the Kupferstichkabinett or the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein.

Since 2014 the Hannah Höch Prize has been awarded every two years in conjunction with the Hannah Höch Förderpreis for younger women artists.


Year Winner Venue
2024 Akinbode Akinbiyi Berlinische Galerie
2022 Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt Kupferstichkabinett Berlin
2020 Monika Baer Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
2018 Christiane Möbus Stiftung Stadtmuseum
2016 Cornelia Schleime Berlinische Galerie
2014 Nanne Meyer Kupferstichkabinett der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin
2013 Andreas Slominski Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
2012 Johannes Grützke Stiftung Stadtmuseum
2011 Ulrike Ottinger Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
2010 Arno Fischer Berlinische Galerie
2009 Konrad Knebel Stiftung Stadtmuseum
2008 Katharina Meldner Kupferstichkabinett der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin
2007 Harald Metzkes Stiftung Stadtmuseum
2006 Ira Schneider Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
2005 Rolf Julius Berlinische Galerie
2004 Helga Paris Berlinische Galerie
2003 Manfred Gräf Berlinische Galerie in der Guardini Galerie
2002 Ursula Arnold Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
2001 Horst Bartnig Berlinische Galerie
2000 Rita Preuss Berlinische Galerie
1999 Marianne Feilchenfeldt (Breslauer) Stiftung Stadtmuseum
1998 Dieter Goltzsche Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
1997 Wolf Vostell Berlinische Galerie
1996 Emmet Williams Berlinische Galerie



Other Art Prizes

For lifetime achievement

Hannah Höch Prize

For enquiring artists

GASAG Art Prize

For art mediators

Friedlieb Ferdinand Runge Award

for unconventional approaches to publicising art