For young art

Eberhard Roters Scholarship

Eberhard Roters (1929 – 1994), founding director of the Berlinische Galerie, would have loved the idea: a working bursary for promising young artists of any genre who, thanks to this support, can spend a whole year focusing entirely on their art, whether it is painting, printmaking, sculpture, photography, or action, installation or conceptual art.

Since 2000 the Eberhard Roters Scholarship has been awarded every two years by the Stiftung Preussische Seehandlung at an event in the Berlinische Galerie. It carries a purse of 15,500 euros. The support consists not only of the twelve-month bursary, but also the purchase of a work by the holder to add to our collection.


Year Scholar
2020 Marta Djourina
2018 Sarah Loibl
2016 Paul Hutchinson
2014 Katrin Wegemann
2012 Helena Petersen
2008 Marc Gröszer
2006 Rolf Giegold
2002 Mark Lammert
2000 Heike Baranowsky



Other Art Prizes

For lifetime achievement

Hannah Höch Prize

For enquiring artists

GASAG Art Prize

For art mediators

Friedlieb Ferdinand Runge Award

for unconventional approaches to publicising art