Government district of
Berlin after 1989

International Designs from the competition archive of the Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning.
On permanent loan from the Federal Republic of Germany

Designs by well-known international architects for various capital city competitions run by the Federal Building Direction have been integrated into the architectural collection since 1996. Here, it is possible to find names like Norman Foster, Oswald Mathias Ungers, Francis Soler, Santiago Calatrava, Benedikt Tonon, Arto Sipinen, Daniel Libeskind, Hans Hollein, Stefan Braunfels, Gruber/Kleine-Kraneburg and Axel Schultes. Examples of competitions for which tenders were invited include the conversion of the Reichstag to a chamber of government, new buildings for the Federal Chancellor’s Office, the Office of the Federal President and the Federal Information Service Berlin, and extensions to the buildings of the Foreign Office and the Ministry of Transport.


Ursula Müller

Head of the Architecture Collection
Phone +49 030-789 02-824